The Provincial Museum of Lugo was created by the Provincial Council in 1932, in order to collect and protect the cultural heritage of Lugo.

It opened its doors to the public for the first time in 1934, on the first floor of the Pazo de San Marcos. In the mid-twentieth century it moved to the facilities of the former convent of San Francisco de Lugo and was declared of cultural interest in 1962. It has 29 exhibition rooms that house various collections of pieces, organized into three main sections. Archaeology, ethnography and fine arts.