On July 2, 1921, the Municipal Corporation of Lugo agreed to build a park. It was born as the first large park in Lugo open to all ages and all social classes.
The initial project, by the municipal architect Ramiro Sainz Martínez, was divided into two layouts, that of the plateau, in the highest part and close to the town, and that of the hilly part, which we know as “Costas do Parque”. The works were relaunched to finish the park in 1927 with the municipal architect Eloy Maquieira, who designed the retaining wall and petril, the pergola, the kiosk and the staircase.
The space took nine years to be completed. It was never inaugurated and, although at first it was designated as Alfonso XIII Park, after the constitution of the Second Republic, the Municipal Corporation agreed to call it Rosalía de Castro Park.
Today, it remains a symbolic and magical enclave for the citizens, with a great wealth of heritage, history and nature.